What is the Penalty for a Class 5 Felony in Virginia

If you live in Virginia, you should know all the criminal laws. You should have information about the misdemeanors, felonies and their penalties. There are different categories of felonies in every state. Virginia has six types of felonies. The Class 1 felony is the highest, and class 6 is the least punishable crime. You should know what these felonies. You should know what crimes fall under these categories. For example, the crimes and offenses such as assault and battery, aggravated assault, possession of schedule I and schedule II drug, hit & run, a few types of domestic violence, bribery, killing an animal, petty larceny and willful child neglect are all class 5 felonies. You must also know that every state has a different penalty for someone who commits a class 5 felony act. In Virginia, a felony is a serious crime and is punishable by jail.

Penalty of the class 5 felony in Virginia

The courts in VA will send you to jail for a felony. No matter what type of felony it is, you can go to jail unless the court decides to drop the charges and send you to probation.  The penalty for a class 5 felony is a fine of $2500 or prison (1 to 10 years) or both. The fine will not increase $2500, and the term in jail will not increase ten years. The reduction in penalty depends on the case. If the person commits a felony for the first time, he may not go to jail. The court may order one-year community service as a penalty for the crime. There are many other ways in which the court can decide not to punish the criminal.

Felony as a misdemeanor

The class 5 felony is also known as a Wobbler. It means that the court can order the penalty of a class 1 misdemeanor for the felony. In this case, you will have to pay a fine of $2500 or go to jail for 12 months only. This reduction in penalty depends on the judge’s discretion. The judge will change the decision and the penalty only if you have a criminal lawyer fighting for you.

The criminal record

There are many consequences which you will face if the court convicts of a felony. The state will update your criminal record. Whatever crime you commit, assault, domestic violence. Bribery, possession, it will be on your criminal record. When you apply for a job, the company will first perform a background check. If they find out a criminal record, they will simply reject your application. If you commit a felony, you may not even get admission in a university or college. If you have a criminal record for child abuse or violence, the institution will not give you admission. The laws are very strict in Virginia. Make sure that you hire a lawyer. He is an expert who will help to reduce the charges against you. He will also help dismiss the charges against you.