In Virginia reckless driving is one of a broad term. You can charge for the reckless driving for more than one time due to your driving behavior, for instance, passing an emergency vehicle or school bus speedily. You can be also charged with this crime if you will do anything in which the police officers interrupt such as you putting limbs, property, and life of other people in danger or any harmful situation that may become a cause of death or any serious physical injury. Moreover, if a person violates the rules of reckless driving will get a reckless driving ticket in Virginia they have to face harsher penalties and loss of driving privileges as well. In this article, we are going to discuss that what happen it a person get the ticket for this.
There are some criminal penalties imposed for reckless driving in Virginia. There are some penalties that can negatively affect your life.
Statement Of Witness:
If you will travel with other persons or passengers than according to the laws of reckless driving it will testify that either you are driving safely or the people with you feel that they are in danger.
- It the reckless driving will be the misdemeanor of class 1 then according to the laws of Virginia the person will face the imprisonment that can be up to 1 year. There is also a chance that the 1st offense will not get the penalty of this type but if the person will repeat this crime again or create a bad driving history will face the prison sentence at the top of the range increases.
- If you will convict the reckless driving that can be a class 5 felony then you will face the imprisonment that can be 1 to 5 years in jail. Furthermore, the jury or the judge can allow a sentence that can be less than a year only when then that’s deemed appropriate in your case.
Fines Of Reckless Driving:
When a person will get a reckless driving ticket for either a Class 6 felony or a Class 1 misdemeanor for both they have to pay fine. Under the law of Virginia, the maximum fine can be $2500. A judge can allow you to find less or not to pay any fine at all. However, it is just rare chances because the judge must impose at least some amount of fine.
If you will find the guilty of reckless driving than according to the laws of Virginia your driving license can be suspended for 10 days to 6 months. You will not be able to drive any vehicle during this time period. To get your license back you may need to complete any condition that will be set by the judge. This condition can be a completion of driver improvement clinic. You will also need to pay the reinstatement fee to the DMV and also need to show the proof that your car is insured.
There is six point demerit of the reckless driving in Virginia. These points will stay on your driving record for 11 years.