There are a number of penalties and charges that a person can face in Virginia but all these depend on the nature of the offense that a person has been accused of. In this case, it is very important that the person must consult the defense lawyer so that he can come to know the possible consequences of the crime and also the fines and penalties that related to a specific crime. In this article, the readers will find the complete guide related to the penalties for the different criminal offense in Virginia. Let’s discuss the topic in detail.
The Misdemeanor Penalties in Virginia
If you are being investigated with a misdemeanor in the state of Virginia then there are a number of penalties that you can face. The most serious misdemeanor is the Class 1 Misdemeanor and the possible punishment will be up to 12 months in jail and the person also has to pay USD 2500 as fine. It is the maximum sentence that can be faced by a person.
In many of the misdemeanor cases there is no minimum and maximum that can be applied to an offense but in the case of DUI charges, the person can be charged with maximum punishment if the BCA is above the limit. So the jail time is very severe for a misdemeanor and the people should take it seriously. There is also the imprisonment charge for class 2 misdemeanor but the thing is that this punishment is not applied to regular practices. The punishment of Class 3 and Class 4 misdemeanor is just high fine.
Penalties for Felonies
The most serious and harsh felony is a capital felony. The possible punishment for this felony is death. Same as a misdemeanor the felony also has categories as highest and lowest number and the lowest category is least severe. The Class 1 felony has the penalty of jail for the whole life and the fine is also a high amount. The punishment of Class 6 felony is about 1 to five years in jail and the possible fine is USD 2500. The Class 5 and Class 6 felonies have a distinction in the criminal law of Virginia and same is for penalties. The presence of an experienced lawyer is necessary to explain you the distinction that can be applied to your case.
The Possible Fines in Criminal Law of Virginia
In Virginia, if you are accused of a criminal offense then you have to pay a possible fine that is other than the court fee. If you are unable to pay the fine and the court fee in a mentioned period of time then the person can ask the court for an extended period of time. All the offenders have to pay their fine in the time period of 30 days including the cost of fees for the court. But on your request, the court can give you extended time. The person has to pay according to the local rules and the procedures set by the courts.